Fast, Cheap & Out of Control (1997)

Hilarious, curious and unsophisticatedly philosophical.

I could not help wondering what connects these four subjects with seemingly unrelated vocations. The title comes from a paper by Rodney Brooks, one of the subjects, called “itled “Fast, Cheap and Out of Control: A Robot Invasion of the Solar System”.

What Rodney Brook says in the film deeply struck me, besides his funny and earnest nature. It was something like we humans are machines which are programmed to think that we have free will. I buy this idea. Free will is a theoretical item which was invented through modernisation. But I detest determinism. (Why do we have to be with one or the other? Why can we not be with both?) We find our free moments between cracks of finite things around us because we are made that way. We are well made machines. We just don’t know our potentials. Anyways, this is a big question that many philosophers spent (wasted?) their lives trying to answer. More about Rodney Brooks.

ps It is quite unlikely that I would like his robot vacuum cleaner. I like to clean my room with my own hands. A practice of my free will.

About this entry